Calham_ColoradoWe had an excellent bright blue sky the morning of the chili cook-off and beach party. It was great getting up early after taking care of personal things and then try to contribute to an event that helps with projects for the year. The food was great and I could not believe the many varieties of chili available.  As always is great to see people that take some time out to partipate in community activities especially if its to improve dialogue, education and sharing in concerns that will help us become an even better State. 

My greatest joy also was the trip to calhan itself for I like very much visiting the country side and looking at ranches, cattle, trucks and horses. The air is crisp, the sound and look of nature very comforting bringing back memories of my early youth and relatives that had small farms. The only difference was that we were city girls going to see the country relatives and it was funny to ride with my uncle and aunt with roosters in a bag in the back seat. My aunt told my uncle, “Please dont let Theresa sit back there with those roosters in a bag”, and my uncle replied, “Thats good for her, it will help build her character”. I guess it worked for many many years later here I am blogging about our country, the people, its beauty, government of checks & balances, opportunities and greatness. My hispanic relatives were excellent characters, with great ambition and joy of progress, however very balanced in their ideals always embracing their culture yet loving the United States. Our Nation does not need to be changed in order to be acceptable of other cultures, or forms of business for we are one United States of America already and have been since our beginnings. I also have great admiration for my Dad an American, Army retired who took the time to educate me in both cultures, and allowing me the opportunity to embrace both actually teaching me what we stand for, and that is a diverse country but United. All this comes to mind when I visit the country, and also to be respecful of life in the country and Nature for its even greater to be a city person who takes the time to reflect and come to appreciate the quiet of nature. At times country people have even more wisdom than our biggest educational institutions, so yes I like the country very much.

In closing, here are  a few of the pictures taken on my trip to the chili-cook off at Calhan Colorado. The first one is of a horse that would be very puzzled if I stopped to ask for directions. Here items I got for my son for a future display for his future barber shop, from the antique store and toy museum.

The next few are of Kay Rendleman and others enjoying the surf, Ritter poster, and then one of a few items I picked up at a place that looked like the chamber of Commerce/FireDept/Museum and antique shop all rolled into one. (Just kidding).  Beach_Party_Chili_cook_off

Kay at the Surf

Kay at the Surf


Vintage Barbering Items from Cadillac Jack's, Calhan

Vintage Barbering Items from Cadillac Jack's, Calhan

<
Ritter Poster

In all I had a super time during my visit to Calhan Colorado and the El Paso County Fairgrounds. Last Check out the dog guarding the entrance, a picture worth a thoudands words, a dog guarding the No Dogs allowed, precious.

Guard_Dog_Calham

